The Definitive List of Every Ben Howard Song

Anyone who knows me knows that I am partial to a bit of Ben Howard love. For anybody not in the know, Ben Howard is a singer-songwriter from Devon who has enjoyed much commercial and critical success following the release of two albums and countless EPs. 

This is a list of every song made by Ben Howard in alphabetical order, complete with a carefully curated version of each song. Enjoy fanning out. 

NOTE: I will try to keep this updated so just leave a comment if I am missing any.


7 Bottles

Oh seven bottles, seven bottles
Makes a weary man stumble towards everything.

A Hand To Hold

Oh keep it steady, a hand to hold in hard times
Oh I’m on her radar, I’ll follow her ’till I die

All Is Now Harmed

But it’s in your nature
Blooms inside your blood

Hold me in harm’s way baby
All is now harmed

Am I In Your Light

I’ve a brittle tongue
It comes and goes
I’ve a fascination
With all I cannot control

Are You Ready

In those hazy hours my mother would sit me down
Saying don’t depend on tomorrow, cause tomorrow can sometimes let you down

Black Flies 

Still I’ll be a traveler
A gypsy’s reins to face
But the road is wearier
With that fool found in your place

Bones

And cover cover all those boys that search for love
In your room
Cause lust is just a child’s game
And you, oh you were always late to bloom

Burgh Island

And if I was ever to leave, I’ll say before I go
That you’re the best moment I have ever known

Cloud Nine

So may your worries, may your worries never fall too loud
May you stay here, may you stay here
happy in your own skin, on the ninth cloud

Conrad

You were the boat that bridged
In the tale of Conrad
Oh I loved you with the good
And the careless in me
But it all goes back

Depth Over Distance

Depth over distance every time, my dear
And this tree of ours may grow tall in the woods
But it’s the roots that will bind us here
To the ground

Diamonds

Oh there ain’t no diamonds in the boredom
Oh there ain’t no darkness that I fear
Oh there ain’t no way to say I love you more, no
So be clear, just to be clear

Empty Corridors

And we fall through empty corridors
And we talk in useless metaphors

End of the Affair

Now I watch her running round in love again
Now I talk about you when I’m with our mutual friends

Esmerelda

Blinded, now I see
That death moves amongst us,
And with such ease the rafters surround us.
These silent beasts are hard to bear.

Evergreen

Take me back to the catacombs, I am tempted by her love
Bluest eyes against my own skin, I have never been so caught up

Everything

Cause everything will start again anew
Cause everything just goes away my friend
And every king knows it to be true
That every kingdom must one day come to an end

Follaton Wood

Still don’t, don’t you forget.
That rope you tied around your neck.
Don’t free you darling, oh oh ho oh ho oh

Further Away

And nobody gives a fuck about you
Tell you it’s a damn shame
The prettiest eyes in the whole world
The same fool in the same game

Games in the Dark

Oh, how close to heaven can you get,
Before the sun burns your eyes?

Gracious

Cause you said ours were the lighthouse towers
The sand upon that place
Darling I’ll grow weary, happy still
With just the memory of your face

I Forget Where We Were

Hello love, my invincible friend
Hello love, the thistle and the burr

I Will Be Blessed

If you’re there when the world comes to gather me in
Oh if you’re there I will be blessed

In Dreams

I live alone
I live a lonely life without you
And I may be troubled
But I’m gracious in defeat

Keep Your Head Up

‘Cause I’ll always remember you the same.
Oh eyes like wild flowers within demons of change.

Keiko

Keiko the world is a beautiful thing,
I don’t always adore it but I know what it means to feel love.

London

And I hope, Paris is as beautiful as I’ve been told
And that everything you do is galvanized in gold.

Master

Master of your own heartbeat,
Be the change that you long to see.

Me And My Friend Time

Oh but you’ll be gone,
Just as soon as the water rises.
Honey I’ll stay sleeping,
’cause I know when I wake there’s only silence.

Move Like You Want

Oh I saw you, watching the band play slow
Eyes like a morning star,
In the soft of the early evening glow

Oats In The Water

And you’ll find loss
And you’ll fear what you found
When weather comes
Tearing down

Ocean Song

In your hours of hurt, son that’s when you’ll find
How strong a heart can be
How beautiful the sun often is
How carefree is the seagull as it flies

Old Pine

Hot sand on toes, cold sand in sleeping bags,
I’ve come to know that memories
Were the best things you ever had

Only Love

Darling I feel you, under my body
Darling you’re with me, forever and always.
Give me shelter or show me heart.
And watch me fall apart, watch me fall apart.

Promise

And promise me this:
You’ll wait for me only,
Scared of the lonely arms.

Quiet Me Down

Darling don’t you worry about the crowd
they still tear at their tongues, 
ohh… quiet them down.

Rivers In Your Mouth

Oh I beg for the world to change
But it don’t

She Treats Me Well

Anger
I’ve seen it rise
from a careless word that I said
well guilt is wasteful
pride is childish

Small Things

If buildings fell
At least we’d be in matrimony
I can’t control
The words kaleidoscope inside my head

Soldiers

I made you breakfast, oh
Soldiers to guard and keep you company
When I’m goin’ away again

The Burren

Blind, can’t you see I am letting go,
I take with me what you left unburned

The Fear

I’ve been worryin’ that we all live our lives in the confines of fear

The Fire

Lie here till your world stops spinning round
Lie near me till the birds start singing out
Come, show what it is to be warm
Be my shelter and I’ll be your storm.

The Wolves

And we lost faith, in the arms of love.

These Waters

See these waters they’ll pull you up,
Oh if you’re bolder than the darkness.

Three Tree Town

Come in from the shadows of these boot black, marching clouds
Because trouble falls like rain,
And lately it’s been pouring down.

Time Is Dancing

Wrapped up in empathy
The chemicals are pushing past my blood

To Be Alone

And in the darkness a shallow poison it has grown,
I bite my tongue there’s a fever I will not let it show.

To The City

And she’s busy in her safe array of plans
She knows I’m weary but she won’t let go of my hand

Twilight/Brighter Side

Twilight gon’ move you
Midnight gon’ prove you wrong
She don’t care about nobody
And all I’m looking for is a song

Under The Same Sun

Will you be there when the day’s done
Will you be there
Under the same, under the same sun

White Lights

White light don’t break her heart anymore
Bright light don’t seem to bother her at all

Wouldn’t Be A Lie

And all the time, you cried and said to me
“Why can’t everything be right?”
Each time I have to put up a fight
And the world keeps on winning,
Oh yeah the world keeps on winning

Leave a comment